Foundation Award

The Foundation Award was established to honor private teachers of instruments and voice that have provided quality teaching, leadership, and passion for excellence over a sustained period of time in Texas. The high level of performance by Texas school musicians is in no small part due to students individually studying their craft with expert guidance.

These honorees are considered to be iconic teachers in Texas. Nominations will be accepted from teachers throughout Texas as they recognize the exceptional private teaching in their schools and communities.

2023 honorees:

Name Instrument
Christine Buetner Vocal/Flute
Nicholas Councilor Clarinet
Kirsten Guerra Flute
Shannon Jacobs Percussion
Andrew Martz Saxophone
Shaun Murray Horn
Sandy Shelley Vocal
Dennis Whittaker Double Bass

2021 honorees:

Name Instrument
Mark Smith Saxophone
Keith Witt Saxophone
Marc Lumley Horn
Sean Casey String Bass
Bob Burnham Trombone
Wes Hegglaund Percussion
Tara Richter Flute
Shulamith Barbe Strings
Dan Bechdolt Saxophone
Jennifer Whatley Voice

2019 honorees:

Name Instrument
Ron Davis Saxophone
David Hummel Tuba
Yuli Jiang Violin

2018 honorees:

Name Instrument
Jon Bohls Trombone
David Lewis Horn
Sally Bohls Oboe
Randy Luster Clarinet
Norma Burrows Flute (posthumously awarded)
Kathy McNeil Voice
Joe Dixon Trombone
Andy Moritz String bass
Ken Dockray Violin
Margaret Redcay Flute
Janeen Gilliam Oboe
Nick Scales String bass
Stephen Gulledge Trumpet
Jan Sloman Violin
Andre Gustus Violin
Mark Swindler Voice
Anna Henry Flute
Mike Warny Low brass
Steve Hoyle Clarinet
Kennan Wylie Percussion
Claire Johnson Flute

For further information, please contact Alan Hanna, Executive Director, The Foundation for Music Education.