2022 Citation of Excellence Results and Adjudicators

The Citation of Excellence is a competition for Texas non varsity high school & middle school bands

2022 Citation of Excellence Winners

Class A

Group Conductor Location
Arbor Creek MS Symphonic Band Sarah Ayoub Carrollton, TX
Artie Henry MS Concert Band Aaron R. Sanchez Cedar Park, TX
Lamar MS Symphonic Band Jung Mour Irving, TX

Class AA

Group Conductor Location
Adams JH Symphonic Band Randallyn Holdford Fulshear, TX
Aledo MS Symphonic Winds Simon Bosch Aledo, TX
Cooper Junior High Symphonic Band Misty Smith & Adam Powell Wylie, TX
Coppell MS West Symphonic Band Chantal Hoang Coppell, TX
Artie Henry MS Symphonic Band Katherine M. Norris Cedar Park, TX
Red Oak MS Symphonic Band Chris Eaton Red Oak, TX
Rogers MS Concert Band I Katie Reeves Prosper, TX
Tidwell MS Symphonic Band Rothman Tafel & Renee Quinlan Roanoke, TX


Group Conductor Location
Colleyville Heritage Symphonic Band Cody Haddock Colleyville, TX
Georgetown HS Wind Ensemble Weston Scholten Georgetown, TX
Grapevine HS Honors Band William Redd Grapevine, TX
Lowery Freshman Center Wind Ensemble Joshua Blankenship Allen TX
Rock Hill HS Symphonic Band Riley Kirwan Frisco, TX


Group Conductor Location
Clark HS Wind Ensemble Jacob Kennedy Plano, TX
Cypress Woods HS Symphonic Winds T.J. Peterman Cypress, TX
Hebron HS Symphonic Band Travis Pruitt Carrollton, TX
Keller HS Symphonic Band Ryan Heath Keller, TX
Klein Oak HS Symphonic Band Christopher Rapacki Spring, TX


Group Conductor Location
Seven Lakes JH Sinfonietta Orchestra Bethany Hagin & Jennifer Gingell Katy, TX
Seven Lakes HS Cambiata Orchestra Desiree Overree Katy, TX
Seven Lakes HS Lyrica Orchestra Sean Carlton Katy, TX

Commended Winners

Band Class A

Group Conductor Location
Colleyville MS Symphonic Band Joey Prescott Colleyville, TX
Heritage MS Symphonic Band Brenda Hinton Colleyville, TX
Shadow Ridge MS Symphonic Band Adrienne Schuster & Ross Patterson Flower Mound, TX

Class AA

Group Conductor Location
Argyle MS Symphonic Band Bojan Gutic Argyle, TX
Canyon Vista Select Band Laura Stehn Austin, TX
Berry Miller JHS Symphonic Band Blake Lein Pearland, TX
Kerr MS Symphonic Band Brennan Ross Burleson, TX
Pioneer Heritage MS Symphonic Band Jennifer Teed Frisco, TX
Spillane MS Symphonic Band Cole Smith Cypress, TX
Trent MS Symphonic Band Jessica Hale Frisco, TX


Group Conductor Location
Jack C. Hays Wind Symphony Aaron Collins Buda, TX
Klein Oak Concert Band Kyle Marx Spring, TX
Lebanon Trail HS Symphonic Winds Matthew Schaul Frisco, TX
Lehman HS Symphonic Band Matthew Garrison Kyle, TX
Vines HS Wind Symphony Jonathan Cao, Chris Martin, Tex Bosley Plano, TX


Group Conductor Location
Glenda Dawson HS Symphonic Band Nathan Coronado Pearland, TX
Lone Star HS Symphonic Band Timothy Hickman Frisco, TX
McNeil HS Wind Symphony Jason Dimiceli Austin, TX
Pearland HS Symphonic Band Gino Hernandez Pearland, TX
Wylie HS Wind Ensemble Mark Schroeder Wylie, TX

String Orchestra

Group Conductor Location
L.D. Bell HS Philharmonic Orchestra Allison King Hurst, TX
McKinney HS Philharmonic Orchestra Kathleen Crabtree-Moore McKinney, TX
Round Rock HS Philharmonic Orchestra Erin Keith Round Rock, TX

2022 Citation of Excellence Band Adjudicator

Matthew McInturf

Matthew McInturf is Professor of Music, Director of Bands and Director of the Center for Music Education at Sam Houston State University. He holds degrees from the University of North Texas, the University of Houston and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. He studied conducting with Anshel Brusilow, Eddie Green and Eugene Migliaro Corporon. Prior to SHSU, Dr. McInturf taught at Florida International University and in the public schools of Richardson, Texas. He has performed throughout the United States and his recordings have been broadcast on NPR. Dr. McInturf is a Past President of the Southwestern Division of the College Band Directors National Association and the Texas Bandmasters Association. He servs as a Region Officer for the Texas Music Educators Association. He is active in the World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles, the American Bandmasters Association and the College Music Society. In 2017 he was honored to be recognized by the Texas Bandmasters Association as the “Bandmaster of the Year.”

2022 Citation of Excellence Orchestra Adjudicator

Anthony Maiello

Anthony J. Maiello received both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in music from Ithaca College in l965 and l967, respectively. He also studied at the National Conducting Institute in Washington, D.C., under the direction of Mr. Leonard Slatkin, Musical Director of the National?Symphony Orchestra. He also serves as a Cover Conductor for the National Symphony Orchestra at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Washington, D.C.

Mr. Maiello’s many professional credits include clinician, adjudicator and guest conductor of All-State, All-State Sectional, Regional, District, All-County and All-City ensembles, with appearances throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico, England, Europe, The Netherlands and The Bahamas. He conducted musical activities for the Gold Medal Ceremonies at the 1980 Olympics in Lake Placid, New York, the New York State Music Camp & Institute; has served as New York State Music Association adjudicator; clinician with Yamaha, and clinician for Warner Bros. Publications, President of the International Association of Jazz Educators – New York State Chapter and as Musical Director for Music Festivals International. He is an elected member of The American Bandmasters Association and ASCAP, and holds membership in the National Band Association, College Band Directors National Association, New York State School Music Association, Virginia Music Educators Association, Virginia Jazz Service Organization, The College Music Society and The American Symphony Orchestra League.

Mr. Maiello’s academic experience includes extensive teaching in the public schools. He served as Professor of Music and Chairman of Performance at the Crane School of Music, Potsdam College of SUNY, Potsdam, New York, where his duties included advanced instrumental conducting, applied clarinet, woodwind and percussion techniques; and conductor of the Crane Wind Ensemble. Under his direction, the ensembles at Crane and George Mason University have commissioned many new works, made numerous recordings and appearances statewide and at regional and national conferences in the United States and Canada. He is the author of CONDUCTING: A HANDS-ON-APPROACH, CONDUCTING NUANCES: LITTLE THINGS MEAN A LOT, and co-author of the 21st CENTURY BAND METHOD.
Anthony Maiello travels widely presenting clinics, lectures and workshops, and guest conducting and adjudicating numerous music festivals. He was Phi Beta Mu Band Director of the Year for the year 2015, and served as adjudicator / clinician for the ASTA National Orchestra Competition.