2023 Citation of Excellence Results

The Citation of Excellence is a competition for Texas non-varsity high school & middle school bands

2023 Citation of Excellence Winners

Class A

Group Conductor Location
Coleman MS Concert Band Armando Vera Waxahachie, TX
Colleyville MS Symphonic Band Joey Prescott Colleyville, TX
Four Points MS Symphonic Band Cori Swan Austin, TX
Heritage MS Symphonic Band Brenda Hinton Colleyville, TX

Class AA

Group Conductor Location
Artie Henry MS Concert Band Aaron R. Sanchez Cedar Park, TX
Artie Henry MS Symphonic Band Katherine M. Norris Cedar Park, TX
Cedar Park MS Concert Band Brandon Morrison Cedar Park, TX
Cinco Ranch JH Symphonic Band Lisa James Katy, TX
Clint Small MS Symphonic Winds Alan DeVall Austin, TX
Cooper JH Symphonic Band Misty Smith & Adam Powell Wylie, TX
Hamilton MS Symphonic Band Nathan Urushima Cypress, TX
Joe M Adams JH Symphonic Band Randallyn Holdford Fulshear, TX
Pearson Ranch MS Honor Band David Eickbusch & Anne Leo Austin, TX
Red Oak MS Symphonic Band Chris Eaton Red Oak, TX


Group Conductor Location
Aledo Symphonic Band Jake Albin Aledo, TX
Colleyville Heritage HS Symphonic Band Cody Haddock Colleyville, TX
Grapevine HS Honors Band William Redd Grapevine, TX
Lone Star HS Symphonic Band Timothy Hickman Frisco, TX
Summit HS Wind Ensemble Beth Hermanson Arlington, TX


Group Conductor Location
Glenda Dawson HS Symphonic Band Emelia Hedden Pearland, TX
Keller HS Symphonic Band Ryan Heath Keller, TX
Westwood HS Wind Symphony Brittany Dacy Austin, TX


Group Conductor Location
Round Rock HS Philharmonic Full Orchestra Caleb Carter & Cathy Benford Round Rock, TX
Lowery Freshman Center Chamber Orchestra Charles Robinson Allen, TX
Seven Lakes HS Lyrica Orchestra Sean Carlton Katy, TX
Ereckson MS Sinfonia I Orchestra Rachel Boone & Joanna DeVoto Allen, TX
Seven Lakes JH Sinfonietta Orchestra Bethany Hagin & Jennifer Gingell Katy, TX

Commended Winners

Band Class A

Group Conductor Location
Atascocita MS Symphonic Band Danielle Dewees Humble, TX
Cedar Park MS Concert Winds Michelle Kim Cedar Park, TX
Smithfield MS Symphonic Band James Atilano North Richland Hills, TX
Sunnyvale MS Gold Band Michael Nation Sunnyvale, TX

Class AA

Group Conductor Location
Argyle MS Symphonic Band Marlie Cote Argyle, TX
Coppell MS East Symphonic Band Katherine Rivera Coppell, TX
Faubion MS Symphonic Band Josh Stephenson McKinney, TX
Keller MS Symphonic Band Richard Alvarado Keller, TX
Kerr MS Symphonic Band Brennan Ross Burleson, TX
Rushing MS Concert Band 1 Nicki Neugent Prosper, TX
Scoggins MS Symphonic Band Sarah Grace Minogue McKinney, TX
Smith MS Symphonic Band Kelly Orlando & David Garcia Cypress, TX
Ulrich Symphonic Band Mitchell Brackett Klein, TX


Group Conductor Location
Lebanon Trail HS Symphonic Winds Matthew Schaul Frisco, TX
Northwest HS Symphonic Band Allison Moreno Justin, TX
Richland HS Symphonic Band Anthony D Rivera North Richland Hills, TX
Whitehouse HS Symphonic Winds Wade Russell Whitehouse, TX


Group Conductor Location
Lake Ridge HS Wind Ensemble Alberto Ocasio Mansfield, TX
McMillen HS Wind Ensemble Joshua Kurzweil Murphy, TX
The Woodlands HS Symphonic Winds Aaron Stickley The Woodlands, TX
Wylie HS Wind Ensemble Mark Schroeder Wylie, TX

String Orchestra

Group Conductor Location
L.D. Bell HS Philharmonic Orchestra Allison King Hurst, TX
The Woodlands College Park HS Chamber Orchestra Emmanuel Coraza The Woodlands, TX
Canyon Vista MS Chamber Orchestra Ragan Whatley & Emily Hornbake Austin, TX
Curtis MS Sinfonia I Orchestra Amy Gearhart Allen, TX
Woodcreek MS Sinfonia Orchestra Pedro Funes & Joshua High Houston, TX

Special thanks to adjudicator Brian Merrill, band, and Anthony Maiello, orchestra